Posted by: ushistoryfiles | August 14, 2013

An Unexpected Hiatus: or How I Spent my Summer Vacation

It has been about 4 months since my last post.  I had not planned on taking a hiatus from blogging here, but sometimes life has other plans for you.  Not that I was totally unproductive, I read several books (and owe a few people a review or two), started a class at AMU, was involved in a move (not mine), tweeted a bit, was saddened by the loss of 2 well respected historians (Edmund Morgan and Pauline Maier), took a day trip to Petersburg, Va and got rained on, worked, searched for that all illusive full-time teaching job, and even started a more personal blog here.  So that is how I spent my summer vacation.  How about you?  Anyone do anything fun / thrilling / exciting?

Responses

  1. We’ve been making day trips and weekend trips all over the place this summer. I’ve been documenting it over on my blog.

    http://historyandancestry.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/washingtons-crossing-and-princeton-battlefield/

    http://historyandancestry.wordpress.com/2013/07/08/the-150th-anniversary-of-the-battle-of-gettysburg-july-4-6/

    http://historyandancestry.wordpress.com/2013/06/21/visiting-valley-forge/

    These are from last fall, but these events are coming up again and I hope to visit once more:

    http://historyandancestry.wordpress.com/2012/09/27/some-great-historical-gems-in-pa-eckley-miners-village-and-mh-railroad/

    Are you planning on uploading any travel logs and photos of your time away?

    • Unfortunately, the one trip to Petersburg was quite soggy thanks to the rain. I do have a future post planned on Petersburg and will include pictures from an earlier trip. I do regret missing Gettysburg, but that weekend was a busy one for us here at Colonial Williamsburg and I didn’t plan well.

  2. The 150th of Cedar Creek is coming up; one of my favorite events! http://www.cedarcreekbattlefield.org/events.html

  3. Well the 149th…but next year the 150th.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

