Posted by: ushistoryfiles | May 11, 2009

A Diary of the Civil War, John C Spence

I am doing some research on what is known as “The Battle of the Cedars”.  In December of 1864 Nathan Bedford Forrest and a combined Confederate force of cavalry and infantry did battle outside Fortress Rosecrans.  I’ll talk more about the battle as I continue to do research.  The point of this post is to relay a different story.

In doing my research I discovered that there is related material in a book A Diary of the Civil War by John C Spence.  Now having worked at Stones River and sold books, the book sounded familiar.  Naturally I check Amazon to see about buying a copy.  If you do that search you will see that Amazon doesn’t really have a listing for it, but several individuals are selling “used and new from $92.99”.  I nearly passed out.

After putting myself together I decided to do a little digging.  Well, it seems that you can purchase one NEW from the Rutherford County Historical Society for $25.00 + $5.00 postage.  So folks, watch out where you buy your history books from.

Leave a Reply

Categories

