Posted by: ushistoryfiles | September 1, 2009

The Cherokee

So as I continue my celebration of the Great Smoky, today I want to talk about the Cherokee.  Unfortunately, the Great Smoky Mountains National Park doesn’t give us as much information on the original inhabitants as it could.  Perhaps the closeness of the Cherokee Reservation plays a part, I am not sure.  While the GSMNP has plenty of records of white settlements and structures in the park which it has restored, the Cherokee are only mentioned on wayside markers and in visitors’ centers.  To get the story of the Cherokee one has to head over to the Oconaluftee Reservation.  While there check out the Museum of the Cherokee Indian.  For more information on the Cherokee go to the Cherokee Historical Association website.

Responses

  1. […] GSMNP is in the heart of Cherokee country (see my earlier post here).  The Park Service states that they have no evidence of Cherokee villages in the cove though it […]

  2. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read.. <a href="http://wiki.hudson-ci.org/display/~bill-bartmann&quot;

    -Bill-Bartmann

  3. Thanks for the info! I recently met Chief Smith of the Cherokee Nation, and was browsing for more information. <a href="http://crystaltrulove.wordpress.com/2010/05/16/cherokee-chief-chad-smith/ "

    ~Crystal Trulove

  4. Glad I found this blog.

    Thanks for the information!

    • Thanks for the kind words.


Leave a Reply

Categories

