Posted by: ushistoryfiles | October 5, 2009

Andrew Johnson, I like the guy

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about the Lincoln Symposium I went to (link here).  While I was in the neighborhood I thought I’d stop by the Andrew Johnson National Historic Site.  OK, so I have to admit, I didn’t really know a whole bunch about the guy.  I mean I knew that he was military governor of Tennessee and eventually Lincoln’s Vice-President, became President after Lincoln was assassinated, and then fell out of favor with his own party and was impeached.  That was about it.

100_0261

There was more to the man than met the eye.  He held an unwavering loyalty to, and strict interpretation of, the Constitution.  Growing up without much education he didn’t learn to read until after he was married.  A tailor by trade, he developed a passion for politics and was an Alderman, Mayor, State Senator, US Congressman, Governor of TN, US Senator – and this was all before the CiviL War broke out.  If you ever get the chance to learn more about Andrew Johnson by visiting this site or picking up a biography I encourage you to do so.  You won’t be disappointed.

100_0262

Responses

  1. Just discovered your website … I agree with you about your Andrew Johnson post. Few of us really know much about him but while he certainly was a controversial president he was a very principled man. His devotion to the Consitution was such that I read that he had ta copy of it placed beneath his head in his casket. And he was the only president who ever was an indentured servant. He went a long way in his life.

    I have just started my own blog centering on US history — http://www.dollarnik.blogspot.com — if you’d like to check it out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

