Posted by: ushistoryfiles | June 17, 2010

Society of Civil War Historians: Day 1 – Bus Tour of Confederate Richmond

I have safely arrived in Richmond, VA for the Society of Civil War Historians conference.  Despite my hotel issues which i describe here, I am enjoying myself.  Today was the bus tour of Confederate Richmond led by Dr. John Coski, Director of Research and Historian at the Museum of the Confederacy.  It was an excellent tour.  Pictures are included in this post.

First we stopped off at the Lumpkin Slave Jail.     

As you can see, we had to pick up the sign to read it.

We also visited Tredegar Iron Works.  We didn’t have much time to explore, so I’ve put this on my list of places to visit again.

We saw a pyramid built as a memorial to Confederate soldiers at Hollywood Cemetary.

Tomorrow the academic sessions start – more to come….

Responses

  1. Cool pyramid!!

    When I saw the guys holding the sign I thought they were really moved by what it said – like people sometimes get in church when they hold their hands up in the air! 🙂

    Hope the rest of the trip is fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

