Posted by: ushistoryfiles | July 3, 2010

UNC Press – A Minor Glitch

Well, it has been a while since I have written.  I had planned on doing a piece on the last day of the Society of Civil War Historians conference, but as soon as I got back to Tennessee we began moving and the last two weeks have flown by.  In fact, we just got the internet access at the new place turned on yesterday; until then I’ve been limited to surfing the web from work on my lunch hour.

Which brings me to:  This week I was on the University of Northe Carolina Press‘ website just looking around.  On their “Come Meet Our Authors!” section they had an event listed at the East Tennessee Historical Society in Knoxville for July 11.  Now Knoxville is only about an hour and a half from here and the event seemed interesting so I was thinking of going.  Seeking more information I then jumped to the ETHS website.  I found nothing listed for the July 11 event.  This I found curious so I emailed the ETHS, they informed me that the event was not happening and had not been confirmed so they were curious as to how it made the UNC website. 

I next emailed the folks at UNC and am happy to report that the event has been removed from their events page. 

I tell this story to illustrate that when it comes to events you see listed anywhere on the internet it is always a good idea to double check and make sure they are still happening.  If I had not emailed the ETHS I would have driven an hour and a half one way to Knoxville for no reason.

Leave a Reply

Categories

