Posted by: ushistoryfiles | March 3, 2011

Blogging Thoughts

My very first blog post was in 2009.  I really did not know what to expect when I first started posting.  Blogging was not something I had done much of and quite frankly I was not sure how much or for how long I would do it.  Simply put it was an experiment. 

Over the last almost two years I have been approached by folks wanting to buy/rent ad space on my blog.  Frankly, that is not something that I am interested in.  Now, I do accept review copies of items and when I write a review I distinguish between a book/item that I purchased and one that has been sent to me for review.  However, I am committed to keeping this blog ad free.

When I first started this blog, I also had no idea how many readers I might attract, how many other blogs there were out there, or what kind of subjects other historians were blogging on.  What I have learned is that History blogs (like any other blog) run the gamut.  From the academically driven to the obviously partisan, there are more blogs out there than I had imagined.  While I have not had a huge volume of comments on my posts, I have had a few private emails by students and others seeking more information on a subject or two so people are reading mine.

Lastly, I was not sure how much or how often I would post.  If I had to pick one area that needs improvement that would be what I would choose.  Working, teaching, and taking classes eat up more of my time than I imagined, but since the teaching and taking classes part are history related I should have a wealth of material from which to choose. 

Well, those are a few of my thoughts this Thursday morning.

Leave a Reply

Categories

