Posted by: ushistoryfiles | May 29, 2012

We have moved!

Well, not USHistoryFiles we are still on WordPress.  My wife and I recently moved from Chattanooga, TN to Williamsburg, VA.  I’ve mentioned in previous posts on how much I love the place and we finally decided to “bite the bullet” and up and move.  We have been here about three weeks now and have been enjoying ourselves.  As you can imagine the first week was utter chaos as we spent the time living out of boxes, moving boxes getting to stuff in boxes that somehow got buried under other boxes, and trying to figure out where to put everything.

Week number 2 got better as we unpacked in the mornings and took a break from packing in the afternoons.  I did almost have a snafu when getting new drivers licenses.  On Tuesday of the second week we went to the DMV to have them switched from Tennessee to Virginia.  They took our picture, drilled “void” in our old DLs, and then handed us a 8 1/2 X 11 sheet of paper printed on a laserjet that was to serve as our temporary license.  Normally this would not have been a problem except that I was flying back to the next Monday and was now worried that my new license would not get in before I was to leave.  I seriously doubt that the TSA would have looked kindly on that temporary license.  I was quite relieved when my nifty new license arrived the Friday before I was to leave.

We also got our Good Neighbor’s pass to Colonial Williamsburg and I’ve been to a lecture at Jamestown by Karen Kupperman.  But more on my local explorations later.

Responses

  1. I’m sure you’ll enjoy your new home. Congratulations! I always love visiting Williamsburg, Jamestown and the Hampton Roads areas. One of the best vacations my family ever had was in that area.


Leave a Reply

Categories

