Posted by: ushistoryfiles | August 13, 2012

Crashed!

There I was all ready to do a new blog post continuing my series on Unexpected History.  The post I was going to write was to be on the Hensley Settlement in the Cumberland Gap National Park.  I gathered my reference materials so I could double check my memory not wanting to make any mistakes (step one complete).  Next, I looked for pictures that I had taken at the settlement.  I’ve been there twice so I know I had some.  I also believe that posts are more interesting when I have a picture or three to show.  Searching for the pictures I discovered that one of the computers (or course the one with the pictures) would not boot up.

Disclaimer:  we are a household with way too many computers.  Between my wife and I we have 5 laptops, 2 desktops, 1 MAC mini, 2 smartphones, and a newly acquired iPad.  Now, some of these are archaic and have been kept because there are certain games/pieces of software that will only run on those machines.  For example, I kept an old Toshiba laptop mostly because I had a copy of MS Access on it where I have my book collection database stored.  I have nearly 1,000 books and I hate to have to redo the database.  (On another note, the Toshiba also runs Sid Meier’s Civilization II [or III – I forget] which will not run on any of the other computers.)

Needless to say, I have pictures and such spread across many of these machines.  As my darlin’ pointed out this morning my photographs are not well organized.  (She also pointed out that I may try to organize for a while and will have good intentions, but evidently will slip back to my old unorganized ways.)

Is there a moral to this story?  Well, the obvious:  backup your data, backup your data, and backup your data.  Will I learn this lesson?  My guess is that my wife is probably right, I’ll probably organize and backup for a while, but in the long run it is so easy to slip back into our bad habits.

Leave a Reply

Categories

