Posted by: ushistoryfiles | March 28, 2013

Zebulon Vance Birthplace – Update

Last week I wrote about the possible closing of the Zebulon Vance Birthplace in North Carolina due to the governor’s budget.  This week I thought I would give an update.  Putting my money where my mouth is, I emailed the 3 House representatives from Buncome County where the Vance Birthplace is located.  They are Susan C. Fisher, Tim D. Moffitt, and Nathan Ramsey.  Of the three Nathan Ramsey did respond to my email indicating that he was opposed to the governor’s proposal and was working with the Asheville Chamber and the Town of Weaverville to come up with an alternative.  (In fact, he responded about an hour and a half after my email, around 11 PM, from his iPhone!)  The other two representatives did not bother to respond.

In addition, some folks have started a petition here that you can go sign if you are so inclined.  I am heading over there now to sign.

Responses

  1. Signed! What an important piece of history for NC to consider closing!

  2. That would be such a shame. I was there about this time last year and it was a terrific site. I can understand closing one or even a few days a week — everyone doing their bit and all that. But not completely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

