Posted by: ushistoryfiles | March 1, 2014

Welcome back stranger

Longtime followers of USHistoryFiles by now have become familiar with my periodic hiatuses (<-look I spelled that correctly!).  The frequency of my blogging often decreases when I am taking a class (which I am currently) but since I have a variety of interests, they can eat into my blogging time as well.  This winter was our second in Williamsburg, and the first with my parents living less than a day’s drive from me.  Since they now live about a half an hour north of me, I got to spend some quality family time with them over the holidays.  January saw snow several times (more than I saw in Chattanooga, less than when I grew up in New Jersey) as well as a new hobby – I am practicing/teaching myself/learning a bit of close up photography.  As always, family, work, and school have their pulls.  But enough of that for now, look what I found in a local thrift store today:photo(1)

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before, but Chattanooga, TN had the best used bookstore I have ever visited (and since I’ve got about a thousand books, I’ve visited a bunch!).  Moving to Williamsburg, VA, I have not found any used bookstores that match the selection of McKay’s.  McKay’s has three stores, the one mentioned in Chattanooga, one in Nashville, and one in Knoxville.  All three were on my regular visitation list.  You can find their website here.  If you are ever in the neighborhood of one of their stores I highly recommend that you check them out.  But I digress.

Since moving to Williamsburg, I’ve taken to raiding thrift stores for books (BTW, Chattanooga area thrift stores did not have many books – the Williamsburg area ones have more – there I go digressing again).  Needless to say, today’s find was exciting for me.

Anyway, I hope you all are well and I’ll see if I can’t get some more posts up (or at least not wait 3/4 months before posting again <grin>.


Leave a comment

Categories